Buick MacKane

Named after a T. Rex track by founders Alejandro Escovedo, bassist David Fairchild and drummer Glenn Benavides, Buick MacKane blended rootsy rock with edgier forms of the 1970s like garage rock and glam. The loose quartet was formed in 1989 when Benavides (formerly of Doctors Mob) and Fairchild invited Escovedo to jam with them soon after the breakup of Escovedo's band the True Believers. After losing original guitarist Thierry LeCoz, the trio found Austin nightclub regular Joe Eddy Hines and began recording songs in 1993 for what was later released as The Pawn Shop Years. Finally, in 1997, the record appeared on Rykodisc.
John Bush, Rovi

More Buick MacKane