September 18, 2006
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, New Wave, Punk/New Wave

Album Review

Whereas 2002's Live in Liverpool captured a glorious homecoming show for the band, Me, I'm All Smiles ends up being more of a celebration of their nearly 30 years together than a fantastic live album. Touring in support of 2005's Siberia, Ian McCulloch and Will Sergeant are spot-on throughout this 19-song set at Shepherds Bush Empire in London. McCulloch's signature swagger is a bit more slinky and lazy with age; his vocals are less dramatic, so live rarities such as "Going Up," "Villiers Terrace," and "With a Hip" come off flirty and fun. Newer tracks such as "Stormy Weather," "Of a Life," and "In the Margins" are equally enjoyable, but it's the thunderous delivery of "Scissors in the Sand" that proves the Bunnymen have still got it. However, there are few moments of greatness, despite some skilled playing, especially from Sergeant, who steals the spotlight from McCulloch more than a few times. Nine of the songs included here are also featured -- and done better -- on Live in Liverpool. Purists might disagree, but Me, I'm All Smiles isn't a must for most fans' collections.
MacKenzie Wilson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Going Up
  2. With a Hip
  3. Stormy Weather
  4. Show of Strength
  5. Bring on the Dancing Horses
  6. The Disease
  7. Scissors in the Sand
  8. All That Jazz
  9. The Back of Love
  10. The Killing Moon
  11. In the Margins
  12. Never Stop
  13. Villiers Terrace
  14. Of a Life
  15. Rescue
  16. The Cutter
  17. Nothing Lasts Forever
  18. Lips Like Sugar
  19. Ocean Rain
purchase full album