Folk, Traditional Folk, Political Folk, Folk Revival, Children's Folk, Folksongs

Album Review

We Shall Overcome: The Complete Carnegie Hall Concert shows that Pete Seeger was at his apex as a performer and as an influential figure in the surging folk movement when John Hammond turned on the Columbia Records tape machine to capture this performance. Out flowed stories, traditional songs, covers of songs by new songwriters like Bob Dylan, and lots more. Seeger was perfectly in tune with his audience as well, and in the acoustic wonder of the hall, the harmonies were well captured. Columbia cut the tape down to a single disc in 1963, but this reissue, running over two hours on compact discs, presents the full concert for the first time. Anyone wondering what it is that has put Seeger at the forefront of folk music for the better part of his life need only hear this to understand.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Audience
  2. Banjo Medley: Cripple Creek/Old Joe Clark/Leather Britches
  3. Lady Margaret
  4. Mrs. McGrath
  5. Mail Myself to You
  6. My Rambling Boy
  7. A Little Brand New Baby
  8. What Did You Learn in School Today?
  9. Little Boxes
  10. Mrs. Clara Sullivan's Letter
  11. Who Killed Norma Jean?
  12. Who Killed Davey Moore?
  13. Farewell (Fare Thee Well)
  14. A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
  15. Didn't He Ramble [Fragment]
  16. Keep Your Eyes on the Prize
  17. If You Miss Me at the Back of the Bus
  18. I Ain't Scared of Your Jail
  19. Oh, Freedom
  20. Audience
  21. Skip to My Lou
  22. Sweet Potatoes
  23. Deep Blue Sea
  24. Sea of Misery [Fragment]
  25. Oh Louisiana
  26. Johnny Give Me
  27. Oh, What a Beautiful City!
  28. Lua de Sertao (Moon of the Backland)
  29. Misirlou
  30. Polyushke Polye (Meadowlands)
  31. Genbaku O Yurusumagi (Never Again the a Bomb)
  32. Schtille Di Nacht (Quiet Is the Night)
  33. Viva la Quince Brigada (Long Live the Fifteenth Brigade)
  34. Tshotsholosa (Road Song)
  35. This Land Is Your Land
  36. From Way up Here
  37. We Shall Overcome
  38. Mister Tom Hughes' Town
  39. Bring Me Li'l Water, Silvy
  40. Guantanamera
purchase full album