Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Soft Rock, Jazz-Rock

Album Review

Not much was heard from Donald Fagen following the release of his debut solo album The Nightfly in 1982 for the rest of the decade. But in the early '90s, Fagen began turning up in clubs in New York City as part of a loose affiliation of performers that came to be called the New York Rock & Soul Revue. This album captures a two-day stand by the Revue, March 1-2, 1991, at the Beacon Theater. The principal performers, in addition to Fagen, who performs originals, oldies, and Steely Dan tunes, are Michael McDonald, Phoebe Snow, Boz Scaggs, Charles Brown, and Eddie and David Brigati. So, you get to hear favorites from the repertoires of those stars and their old groups, such as the Doobie Brothers and the Rascals. Of course, it would have been better to have been there, but this makes an entertaining souvenir.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Intro
  2. Madison Time
  3. Knock on Wood
  4. Green Flower Street
  5. Shakey Ground
  6. At Last
  7. Lonely Teardrops
  8. Drowning in the Sea of Love
  9. Drifting Blues
  10. Chain Lightning
  11. Groovin'
  12. Minute by Minute
  13. People Got to Be Free
  14. Pretzel Lofic
  15. Madison Reprise