Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Post-Punk, New Wave, Alternative/Indie Rock, Punk/New Wave, Dance-Rock

Album Review

Adam Ant and Marco Pirroni ditched the rest of the Ants not long after the release of the widely derided Prince Charming, which provided them with the perfect opportunity for a new statement of purpose in the first Ant-less album, 1982's Friend or Foe. They had already begun moving away from Burundi beats and Indians on Prince Charming, but here they ditch any pretense at the underground, favoring big, glitzy glam pop. There's still residual artiness, of course, since Adam and Marco are post-modernists that love to paste together seemingly incongruous strands of pop culture in an attempt to craft something new. The difference is, they've wrapped this instinct in big, big production and cheerful, unabashed pop hooks, best heard on "Place in the Country" and the hits "Friend or Foe," "Desperate But Not Serious," and "Goody Two Shoes," the latter becoming Adam's biggest hit in the U.S. Since these are deliberate pop trifles, several critics laughed off Ant as a silly lightweight, but that's missing the point -- these are intentionally tongue-in-cheek tunes, delivered with an excess of flair and good humor. Though Friend or Foe does lose momentum on the second side and the cover of the Doors' "Hello, I Love You" falls a little flat, this is good, giddy fun, one of Ant's best records and one of the best new wave albums.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Friend or Foe
  2. Something Girls
  3. Place in the Country
  4. Desperate But Not Serious
  5. Here Comes the Grump
  6. Hello, I Love You
  7. Goody Two Shoes
  8. Crackpot History and the Right to Lie
  9. Made of Money
  10. Cajun Twisters
  11. Try This for Sighs
  12. Man Called Marco
purchase full album