October 12, 2004
J Records
Pop/Rock, Adult Contemporary, Traditional Pop, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Album Rock

Album Review

Neither Rod Stewart nor producer Clive Davis has ever been accused of letting any moss grow around him, so when Stewart's first collection of tunes from the Great American Songbook turned out to be a smash, Stewart and Davis followed it up with a sequel, and, eventually, with a third volume. As with the preceding albums, Stardust finds Stewart tackling the cream of the crop of classic pop standards, songs that will be instantly familiar to followers of Bennett, Sinatra, et al., but which may conceivably be new to some of Rod's more rock-oriented fans. In that sense, the record can be seen as a public service, introducing those woefully benighted souls to such masterworks as the Gershwins' lovelorn ballad "But Not for Me" and the transcendently stellar, Hoagy Carmichael-penned title tune.
Jim Allen, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Embraceable You
  2. For Sentimental Reasons
  3. Blue Moon
  4. What a Wonderful World
  5. Stardust
  6. Manhattan
  7. 'S Wonderful
  8. Isn't It Romantic
  9. I Can't Get Started
  10. But Not for Me
  11. A Kiss to Build a Dream On
  12. Baby, It's Cold Outside
  13. Night and Day
  14. A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square
purchase full album