July 15, 2003
Burning Bush
Reggae, Rocksteady, Roots Reggae

Album Review

Delroy Wilson possessed a rich, smooth voice that gave his rocksteady sound a distinctive and quite satisfying flavor. He worked with some of the biggest producers in Jamaica like Coxsone Dodd, Bunny Lee, Joe Gibbs, and Keith Hudson during his long and fruitful run as an underrated hitmaker. Rocksteady Massive gathers up songs from various stages of his career. It hits the mid-'60s when he was working with Dodd and churning out hits like his percolating cover of the Tam's "I'm in a Dancing Mood," "Riding for a Fall," "Rain From the Skies," and "Here Come the Heartaches." It also runs through the '70s (his rootsy classic "Better Must Come" from 1971, "Cool Operator") and what sounds like the '80s ("It's Impossible"). It is hard to be sure because Burning Bush provides the usual dearth of discographical information, and unless you are a Wilson fanatic, you mostly have to guess at the song's vintage. Despite this perhaps overly geeky gripe, the music is first-rate rocksteady and roots rock, and this disc would be a positive addition to a reggae lover's collection.
Tim Sendra, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Cool Operator
  2. I'm in a Dancing Mood
  3. Stick by Me
  4. Better Must Come
  5. It's Impossible
  6. Tune In
  7. Trying to Conquer Me
  8. Riding for a Fall
  9. Rain from the Skies
  10. Keep on Running
  11. Here Comes the Heartaches
  12. Just Say Who
  13. Put Yourself in My Place
  14. I'm in the Mood for Love
  15. Let There Be Love
  16. It's the Same Old Song
  17. Baby You've Got What It Takes
  18. Who Cares
  19. I Shall Be Released
  20. Hold Me Tight