Warner Strategic Marketing
Pop/Rock, Disco, Singer/Songwriter, New Romantic, Alternative Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Club/Dance, Hard Rock, New Wave, Contemporary R&B, Synth Pop, Euro-Pop, Dance-Pop, Sophisti-Pop, Punk/New Wave

Album Review

Simply the Best Eighties is a two-disc compilation from the U.K. wing of Warners that covers a good deal of ground, albeit with a marked emphasis on the first half of the decade. This is a good way to pick up some stray favorites -- unless, of course, you already have dozens of like-themed packages. You'd have to have rather open-minded taste to enjoy the whole thing all the way through, but there should be enough for everyone to enjoy. Highlights include New Order's "Blue Monday," Swing Out Sister's "Breakout," ABC's "The Look of Love, Pt. 1," Soft Cell's "Tainted Love," the Pretenders' "Brass in Pocket," and Adam & the Ants' "Prince Charming."
Andy Kellman, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Blue Monday
  2. Don't Go
  3. Here Comes the Rain Again
  4. You Spin Me 'Round (Like a Record)
  5. Tainted Love
  6. A Little Respect
  7. Smalltown Boy
  8. Don't You Forget About Me
  9. Good Thing
  10. Somewhere in My Heart
  11. Long Hot Summer
  12. Relax
  13. Golden Brown
  14. Down Under
  15. Going Underground
  16. Baby I Don't Care
  17. Tide Is High
  18. White Wedding
  19. Real Wild Child (Wild One)
  20. Brass in Pocket
  21. Girls Just Want to Have Fun
  22. Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go
  23. Kiss
  24. It's Raining Men
  25. Venus
  26. Frankie
  27. Uptown Girl
  28. Do You Really Want to Hurt Me
  29. Sign Your Name
  30. Eternal Flame
  31. Human
  32. Holding Back the Years
  33. Take on Me
  34. Down to Eatrh
  35. Breakout
  36. Kids in America
  37. Come on Eileen
  38. Prince Charming
  39. The Look of Love, Pt. 1
  40. Everywhere