February 05, 2002
SpinART Records
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, College Rock, Neo-Psychedelia, Post-Punk, Alternative/Indie Rock, Dream Pop

Album Review

Ian McCulloch and Will Sergeant shaped Echo & the Bunnymen's dreamy post-punk into something timeless. Their 1997 reincarnation sparked new life for the band, and McCulloch and Sergeant have maintained their strong appeal of passionate rock & roll. On a live setting, they're charming and their first proper live album, Live in Liverpool, proves that. The duo have a weird musical madness together, and they're comfortable with it. The two night stint captured August 2001 at Paul McCartney's Liverpool of Performing Arts, McCulloch's romantic brood and Sergeant's riveting guitar work are at its best. It's a merry collection of cult classics ("Seven Seas," "The Killing Moon," "Never Stop") and new material ("SuperMellow Man," "Eternity Turns"), but a homage to the band itself. The psychedelic bombast of "All That Jazz" is slick and savvy. Songs from the Crocodiles album take on that tone, but with a signature lust and a sneaky intensity. "Over the Wall" brings that side of the band to the forefront. In a live setting, it's eerie and alluring. "Rescue" and "The Cutter" soar with lush guitar riffs and McCulloch's warm vocals illustrate something primitive. "Nothing Lasts Forever," from 1997's Evergreen, is a sweet sign of age, but it's also graceful. McCulloch and Sergeant are fond of what Echo & the Bunnymen have become. Two nights churning out fan favorites and band mainstays in their hometown makes it much sweeter.
MacKenzie Wilson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Rescue
  2. Lips Like Sugar
  3. King of Kings
  4. Never Stop
  5. Seven Seas
  6. Buried Alive
  7. Supermellow Man
  8. My Kingdom
  9. Zimbo (All My Colours)
  10. All That Jazz
  11. An Eternity Turns
  12. The Back of Love
  13. The Killing Moon
  14. The Cutter
  15. Over the Wall
  16. Nothing Lasts Forever
  17. Ocean Rain
purchase full album