July 03, 2001
Reggae, Roots Reggae, Political Reggae

Album Review

This concert was recorded live on November 26, 1976, at the end of Tosh's first American tour. Concentrating on material from his Legalize It album (though, oddly, the song "Legalize It" itself is absent), it's a lengthy (75-minute) document of how he sounded at the time he was becoming known as a solo performer in his own right to international audiences. The fidelity is decent, and as was often the case with Bob Marley and the Wailers records in the 1970s, there's a rock tinge to the arrangements, particularly as the band included guitarists Al Anderson and Donald Kinsey (later leader of the Kinsey Report). The rhythm section is the famed pair of Sly Dunbar and Robbie Shakespeare, and Earl Lindo adds keyboards to the full sound. Like many a live album, it's a good addition to the collection of committed fans, though not the ideal place to get a sense of Tosh's prime.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Instrumental Intro [Instrumental]
  2. Igziabeher (Let Jah Be Praised)
  3. 400 Years
  4. No Sympathy
  5. Burial
  6. Mark of the Beast
  7. Babylon Queendom
  8. Why Must I Cry
  9. What'cha Gonna Do?
  10. Stepping Razor
  11. Ketchy Shuby
purchase full album