Warner Bros.
Pop/Rock, Heavy Metal, Hard Rock, Arena Rock, British Metal

Album Review

Stormbringer falls short of the excellence of Machine Head and Who Do We Think We Are, but nonetheless boasts some definite classics -- including the fiery "Lady Double Dealer," the ominous title song (a goth metal treasure), the sweaty "High Ball Shooter," and the melancholy ballad "Soldier of Fortune." Most of the other songs on the decent, if uneven, Stormbringer (which Metal Blade reissued on CD in the early '90s) are not essential. Like Come Taste the Band, Stormbringer will be of interest to Deep Purple's more enthusiastic fans, rather than casual listeners who would be much better off starting out with either of the above-mentioned studio projects or the live Made in Japan.
Alex Henderson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Stormbringer
  2. Love Don't Mean a Thing
  3. Holy Man
  4. Hold On
  5. Lady Double Dealer
  6. You Can't Do It Right
  7. Highball Shooter
  8. The Gypsy
  9. Soldier of Fortune