Album Review

McGuinn's Folk Den Vol. 1 is the first of four short, discount-priced albums of traditional folk songs that Roger McGuinn offered for sale on The varied song selection touches on gospel, country, Irish, and whaling songs. McGuinn's familiar light, vibrato-laden tenor is a good vehicle for the material, which he clearly knows well. Though several acoustic instruments are sometimes overdubbed along with double-tracked or harmony vocals, these are not sophisticated recordings; in fact, "John Henry" has a primitive sound that makes one suspect it was recorded quite a few years back. But the sound quality matches the folk material, and this is clearly a case of an artist re-investigating his roots affectionately.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Mighty Day
  2. Pushboat
  3. John the Revelator
  4. Bonny Ship the Diamond
  5. John Henry
  6. Handsome Cabin Boy
  7. Wayfaring Stranger
  8. Finnegan's Wake
  9. James Alley Blues
  10. Home on the Range
  11. Mary Had a Baby