October 17, 2000
Oglio Records
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, New Wave, Punk/New Wave

Album Review

Designed as a supplement to (not a replacement for) the No Vacancy best-of, Anthologyland is a double-disc compilation of Motels demos, outtakes, live cuts, and other rarities. Prepared with the help of Martha Davis, Anthologyland effectively works as a hidden history of the band, featuring alternate versions of most of their key songs, plus obscurities like their demo of "Take My Breath Away," the Top Gun love theme that ended up assigned to Berlin instead. Casual fans won't find this all that necessary, but for devotees, Anthologyland is a treasure trove.
Steve Huey, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Every Day Star [Demo Version]
  2. Route 66 [Live]
  3. Boys [outtake][Outtake]
  4. Total Control [Live]
  5. The Big Hurt [Live]
  6. Celia [Live]
  7. Counting [Live]
  8. Amigo [outtake][Outtake]
  9. Careful [Alternate Take]
  10. Danger [Alternate Take]
  11. Slow Town
  12. Lost But Not Forgotten [outtake][Outtake]
  13. Only the Lonely [Alternate/Early Version][Alternate Take]
  14. Mission of Mercy [Live]
  15. Some Things Never Change [Demo Version]
  16. Surrender [outtake][Outtake]
  17. Room at the Top [outtake][Outtake]
  18. Mystery D.J. [outtake][Outtake]
  19. Suddenly Last Summer [Alternate Take]
  20. Remember the Nights [Live]
  21. Love and Affection
  22. Nightmares
  23. In the Jungle [Concrete Jungle]
  24. I Can't Believe
  25. Take My Breath Away [Demo Version]
  26. We Never Danced
  27. Next in Line [Demo Version]
  28. Save the Last Dance for Love
  29. Shame [Demo Version]
  30. Crazy [Demo Version]
  31. You Got What It Takes