September 25, 1970
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock

Album Review

Ringo Starr had a demonstrated affinity for country music, as heard on such Beatles recordings as "Act Naturally," and he sounded as modestly comfortable on this Nashville-recorded session as in any other musical context. The cream of the city's session players backed up the former Beatle on a set of newly written songs, and the result was a typical country effort, pleasant as long as you didn't expect too much. Of course, this was the second straight genre exercise for Starr, following his pop standards album Sentimental Journey, and now he had tackled two styles that depend on vocal stylists for much of their appeal. On both, Ringo was Ringo. But with the Beatles fading into history, his suddenly front-burner solo career was starting to look like a series of dabblings rather than a coherent follow-up to the group's success. What could be next, an album of Motown songs? Wisely, he returned to Beatles-style pop/rock in subsequent releases. [Beaucoups of Blues was reissued on August 1, 1995, by Captiol with two bonus tracks, "Coochy Coochy," which had been released as the B-side of the single "Beaucoups of Blues," and the six-and-a-half-minute impromptu instrumental "Nashville Jam," which was previously unreleased.]
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Beaucoups of Blues
  2. Love Don't Last Long
  3. Fastest Growing Heartache in the West
  4. Without Her
  5. Woman of the Night
  6. I'd Be Talking All the Time
  7. $15 Draw
  8. Wine, Women and Loud Happy Songs
  9. I Wouldn't Have You Any Other Way
  10. Loser's Lounge
  11. Waiting
  12. Silent Homecoming
  13. Coochy Coochy [*]
  14. Nashville Jam [#][*]
purchase full album