June 06, 2000
Universal Distribution
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Hard Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, American Trad Rock

Album Review

Picking up where 1998's Phantom Power release left off, charming Canadian fivesome the Tragically Hip continue with their signature infectious tunes on their eighth studio album Music @ Work. Sensible songsmith and frontman Gordon Downie is classic in hitting upon notable issues and figures, and cites verses from John Cage on the temperamental track "Tiger the Lion." "The Bastard" and "Freak Turbulence" are both intimidating in the fact that the band does not let go emotionally or physically when churning out smashing percussion drives and swirling guitar riffs. "Toronto #4" is a little wispy. Perhaps that's why the Tragically Hip can make it playing arenas. Only attitude can get you that far. Look at U2 and R.E.M.
MacKenzie Wilson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. My Music at Work
  2. Tiger the Lion
  3. Lake Fever
  4. Putting Down
  5. Stay
  6. The Bastard
  7. The Completists
  8. Freak Turbulence
  9. Sharks
  10. Toronto #4
  11. Wild Mountain Honey
  12. Train Overnight
  13. The Bear
  14. As I Wind Down the Pines
purchase full album