October 12, 1999
Chicago Records Dist.
Pop/Rock, Soft Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Adult Contemporary, Jazz-Rock

Album Review

Perhaps a Chicago live album sounds terribly unfashionable. Indeed, the band fell into decline in the early '90s, but by decade's end, the hit-making group known for its horn charts and high harmonies was in fighting shape, as this live set will attest. Four of the six original members are here, and they cook up some delicious sounds from the group's early history -- a stunning "Seachin' So Long," a convincing "Call On Me," a suitably dramatic "Just You 'N' Me," and a solid "Beginnings." Later material like "Hard Habit to Break" is here, but, wisely, the late '80s material was left out of the final mix. Sadly, the new material, produced by Roy Bittan, doesn't have any bite, and an appalling cover of Jackie Wilson's "Higher and Higher," sung by Doobie Brother Michael McDonald, closes the show.
Denise Sullivan, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Ballet for a Girl in Buchannon
  2. (I've Been) Searchin' So Long
  3. Mongonucleosis
  4. Hard Habit to Break
  5. Call on Me
  6. Feelin' Stronger Every Day
  7. Just You 'N' Me
  8. Beginnings
  9. Hard to Say I'm Sorry/Get Away
  10. 25 or 6 to 4
  11. Back to You
  12. If I Should Ever Lose You
  13. (Your Love Keeps Lifting Me) Higher and Higher