June 01, 1999
Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock

Album Review

The title notwithstanding, this debut from the former Faithless singer is pretty angelic-sounding stuff. You're bound to think of Sinéad O'Connor, but the comparison is as misleading as it is inevitable. Granted, Dido's ethereal vocals here frequently recall O'Connor; but Dido's music -- while inventively augmented with electronics -- is generally less adventurous. Ditto No Angel's lyrics, which focus almost exclusively on love, lust, and relationships. That said, the fact remains that this is an auspicious and highly listenable album -- atmospheric, seductive, and beautifully produced and sequenced.
Jeff Burger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Here with Me
  2. Hunter
  3. Don't Think of Me
  4. My Lover's Gone
  5. All You Want
  6. Thank You
  7. Honestly OK
  8. Slide
  9. Isobel
  10. I'm No Angel
  11. My Life
  12. Take My Hand [*]
purchase full album