RELEASE
May 04, 1999
LABEL
Curb
GENRES
Country, Country-Pop, Neo-Traditionalist Country, Contemporary Country, Adult Contemporary

Album Review

Everywhere may have continued Tim McGraw's streak of hit albums, but it also suggested that he was falling into a bit of a rut. That doesn't seem to have bothered McGraw, since Everywhere's sequel, A Place in the Sun, is much like its predecessor in its balance of polished ballads, country-pop and uptempo ravers, which are supposed to sound like honky-tonk but are closer to country-rock. Since he's a professional and works with professionals, A Place in the Sun sounds good and has a number of highlights, from ballads like "My Best Friend" and the Patty Loveless duet "Please Remember Me" to harder numbers like "Something Like That," "My Next Thirty Years" and "She'll Have You Back." The problem is, there's nothing new here -- not only is the music in the same vein as his previous efforts, it has nearly the same ratio of hits to misses. Since the moments that do work are very good, and since it is a stronger overall record than its predecessor, it will be worthwhile for fans, but it doesn't help erase the impression that McGraw won't deliver a truly satisfying album until a greatest-hits compilation comes along.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Trouble with Neverhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-trouble-with-never/id68875720?i=68874559&uo=5
  2. Seventeenhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/seventeen/id68875720?i=68874636&uo=5
  3. She'll Have You Backhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/shell-have-you-back/id68875720?i=68874673&uo=5
  4. Somebody Must Be Prayin' for Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/somebody-must-be-prayin-for-me/id68875720?i=68874761&uo=5
  5. My Best Friendhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/my-best-friend/id68875720?i=68874818&uo=5
  6. SeƱorita Margaritahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/senorita-margarita/id68875720?i=68874908&uo=5
  7. Some Things Never Changehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/some-things-never-change/id68875720?i=68875006&uo=5
  8. You Don't Love Me Anymorehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/you-dont-love-me-anymore/id68875720?i=68875074&uo=5
  9. Something Like Thathttp://itunes.apple.com/album/something-like-that/id68875720?i=68875122&uo=5
  10. Please Remember Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/please-remember-me/id68875720?i=68875202&uo=5
  11. Carry Onhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/carry-on/id68875720?i=68875308&uo=5
  12. My Next Thirty Yearshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/my-next-thirty-years/id68875720?i=68875423&uo=5
  13. Eyes of a Womanhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/eyes-of-a-woman/id68875720?i=68875500&uo=5
  14. A Place in the Sunhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/a-place-in-the-sun/id68875720?i=68875627&uo=5
purchase full album