October 06, 1998
Pop/Rock, Synth Pop, Alternative Dance, College Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Club/Dance, Dance-Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Punk/New Wave

Album Review

It took Depeche Mode only four years to assemble their first singles compilation, but 12 to assemble The Singles 86>98. Appropriately, the second set was much more ambitious than The Singles 81>85, spanning two discs and 20 songs, plus a live version of "Everything Counts." The Singles 86>98 was an album that many fans, both casual and hardcore, waited patiently for, and for good reason -- Depeche Mode were always more effective as a singles band than as album artists. That's not to say that the double-disc compilation is perfect. DM's output fluctuated wildly during those 12 years, as the group hit both career highs and lows. It's possible to hear it all on this set, from "Strangelove" and "Never Let Me Down Again," through "Personal Jesus" and "Enjoy the Silence," to "I Feel You" and "Barrel of a Gun." It's possible that some casual listeners will find that the collection meanders a bit too much for their tastes, but the end result is definitive and, along with The Singles 81>85, ranks as Depeche Mode's best, most listenable album.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Stripped
  2. A Question of Lust
  3. A Question of Time
  4. Strangelove
  5. Never Let Me Down Again
  6. Behind the Wheel
  7. Personal Jesus
  8. Enjoy the Silence
  9. Policy of Truth
  10. World in My Eyes
  11. I Feel You
  12. Walking in My Shoes
  13. Condemnation
  14. In Your Room
  15. Barrel of a Gun
  16. It's No Good
  17. Home
  18. Useless
  19. Only When I Lose Myself
  20. Little 15
  21. Everything Counts [Live]