September 08, 1998
BMG Special Products
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Country-Rock, Soft Rock

Album Review

BMG Special Products' Amie: The Encore Collection is a fine budget-priced collection featuring ten tracks Pure Prairie League recorded for RCA in the mid-'70s. Naturally, their signature song, "Amie," is here, along with the minor hits "That'll Be the Day" and "Two Lane Highway," but the collection stops before the group became soft rock favorites in the early '80s with singles like "Let Me Love You Tonight." Instead, it selects a number of highlights from their country-rock albums, and while hardcore fans will quibble with certain inclusions, Amie remains a good bargain for casual fans on a budget.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Amie
  2. Two Lane Highway
  3. Harvest
  4. I Can't Hold Back
  5. Jazzman
  6. That'll Be the Day
  7. I Can't Believe
  8. Fool Fool
  9. Working in the Coal Mine
  10. White Line