February 09, 1998
Electronica, House, Club/Dance, Garage

Album Review

Byron Stingily's debut solo album charts a night in the life of your average mainstream clubber circa 1998, with previous singles "Sing-A-Song" and "Get Up" alongside more recent shots, including his cover of the Sylvester classic "You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)." Though the epic tone of the album's five suites -- "early evening," "crowd-pleasers," "garage set," "afterhours," and "Sunday morning" -- ties things together nicely, the range of producer credits (by Masters at Work, David Morales, Murk, Frankie Knuckles, Mousse T and Maurice Joshua) can't help but give The Purist a rather disjointed feel.
John Bush, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Flying High
  2. Back to Paradise
  3. Beautiful Night
  4. You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)
  5. Get Up
  6. Sing a Song
  7. Found a Love
  8. Keep Love Going
  9. Run to Me
  10. Feeling Good, Feeling Happy
  11. Temptation
  12. It's Over
  13. Don't Fall in Love
  14. Testify
  15. Flying High [Brazilian Mix]