November 19, 1996
Pop/Rock, Country-Rock, Psychedelic, Rock & Roll, Folk-Rock

Album Review

Taking his cue from Ray Davies' "Storyteller" tour to support his autobiography X-Ray, Roger McGuinn constructed his live performances of the mid-'90s as a series of greatest hits, new songs, neglected gems and witty, affectionate anecdotes of his life in the music industry. Live from Mars replicates one of these concerts, featuring classics like "Mr. Tambourine Man," "Turn, Turn, Turn," and "So You Want to Be a Rock N Roll Star" intercut with humorous stories and two new songs, "May the Road Rise to Meet You" and "Fireworks." For fans, Live from Mars is a small treasure, since it is one of McGuinn's friendliest and most relaxed recordings.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Heartbreak Hotel (Intro)
  2. Heartbreak Hotel
  3. Daddy Roll 'Em (Intro)
  4. Daddy Roll 'Em
  5. Gate of Horn (Intro)
  6. Gate of Horn
  7. Chestnut Mare (Intro)
  8. Chestnut Mare
  9. Bells of Rhymney (Intro)
  10. Bells of Rhymney
  11. Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is a Season)
  12. Beach Ball (Intro)
  13. Beach Ball
  14. Wild Mountain Thyme (Intro)
  15. Wild Mountain Thyme
  16. You Showed Me (Intro)
  17. You Showed Me
  18. Mr. Tambourine Man (Intro) [Acoustic]
  19. Mr. Tambourine Man [Electric]
  20. Mr. Spaceman (Intro)
  21. Mr. Spaceman
  22. Eight Miles High (Intro)
  23. Eight Miles High
  24. So You Want to Be a Rock & Roll Star
  25. King of the Hill
  26. May the Road Rise
  27. Fireworks [*]
  28. May the Road Rise [*]