March 06, 2012
Rhythm & Blues, Soul, Motown, Pop-Soul, AM Pop

Album Review

Universal's 2012 Icon rounds up 11 tracks from Michael Jackson’s solo recordings for Motown. In other words, although there are a few classics here -- "Got to Be There," "Ben," maybe "Rockin' Robin"-- this isn't quite his prime and the compilation reflects that, rounding up forgotten singles and album tracks. It's hardly the first Jackson comp one should get -- if anybody is interested in his best Motown work, they should find a Jackson 5 set -- but it's not a bad way to get the handful of best cuts from this early period.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Got to Be There [Version]
  2. I Wanna Be Where You Are
  3. Rockin' Robin
  4. People Make the World Go 'Round
  5. With a Child's Heart
  6. Happy [Love Theme from "Lady Sings the Blues"]
  7. Ben [Version]
  8. We're Almost There
  9. Just a Little Bit of You
  10. One Day in Your Life
  11. Music and Me