RELEASE
LABEL
Columbia
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Soft Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Adult Contemporary

Album Review

Neil Diamond mounted a major comeback with Tennessee Moon, his first collection of new material in nearly five years. Instead of capitalizing on the psuedo-hipster status he had acquired with the early '90s alternative rockers, particularly Urge Overkill, Diamond headed to Nashville to write and record Tennessee Moon. Appropriately, the album is rooted in contemporary country, spiked with hints of the pop craftsmanship that made him popular in the '60s. Not all of the songs were written by Diamond or his collaborators, which included Raul Malo of the Mavericks; the combination of originals and professionally-written made-to-order songs works well, leaving the overall quality of the material rather high. Tennessee Moon suffers from an overabundance of songs, as well as a slightly sterile production, but it remains one of Neil Diamond's most successful records of the '80s and '90s.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Tennessee Moonhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tennessee-moon/id258545876?i=258545929&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. One Good Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/one-good-love/id258545876?i=258546038&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Shamehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/shame/id258545876?i=258546046&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. A Matter of Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/a-matter-of-love/id258545876?i=258546106&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Marry Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/marry-me/id258545876?i=258546140&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Deep Inside of Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/deep-inside-of-you/id258545876?i=258546288&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Gold Don't Rusthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tennessee-moon/id258545876?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Like You Dohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/like-you-do/id258545876?i=258546382&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Can Anybody Hear Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/can-anybody-hear-me/id258545876?i=258546455&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Win the Worldhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/win-the-world/id258545876?i=258546482&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. No Limithttp://itunes.apple.com/album/no-limit/id258545876?i=258546496&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. Reminisce for a Whilehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/reminisce-for-a-while/id258545876?i=258546520&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Kentucky Womanhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/kentucky-woman/id258545876?i=258546568&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. If I Lost My Wayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tennessee-moon/id258545876?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. Everybodyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/everybody/id258545876?i=258546644&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Talking Optimist Blues (Good Day Today)http://itunes.apple.com/album/talking-optimist-blues-good-day/id258545876?i=258546669&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. Open Wide These Prison Doorshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/open-wide-these-prison-doors/id258545876?i=258546674&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. Blue Highwayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/blue-highway/id258545876?i=258545886&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album