January 16, 1996
Warner Bros.
Pop/Rock, Trip-Hop, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Alternative Dance, Alternative/Indie Rock, Shibuya-Kei

Album Review

Fresh and funky, female and Japanese, the trip-hop/rap duo Cibo Matto has been the recipient of a lot of hype. Fortunately, it's well-founded; all trendiness aside, Viva! La Woman is an innovative and catchy mix of eclectic samples and stream-of-consciousness lyrics. The likes of Paul Weller, Ennio Morricone, and Duke Ellington combine with observations like "My weight is three hundred pounds/My favorite is beef jerky" (from "Beef Jerky") and "Shut up and eat! You know my love is sweet!" from ("Birthday Cake") in a fun and refreshing way. The tone of the album varies with each song; on tracks like "Sugar Water" and "Artichoke," Cibo Matto plays it spooky and ethereal, while "Birthday Cake" and the single "Know Your Chicken" find them as a couple of cryptic Beastie Girls, tossing off wacky non sequiturs over found soundscapes. Cibo Matto cooks up a tasty appetizer of their talent with Viva! La Woman. Like their tongue-in-cheek cover of "The Candy Man," Cibo Matto makes everything they bake satisfying and delicious. A diverse and entertaining album, Viva! La Woman leaves the listener hungry for more of their crazy food for thought.
Heather Phares, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Apple
  2. Beef Jerky
  3. Sugar Water
  4. White Pepper Ice Cream
  5. Birthday Cake
  6. Know Your Chicken
  7. Theme
  8. The Candy Man
  9. Le Pain Perdu
  10. Artichoke
purchase full album