Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Adult Contemporary, Soft Rock

Album Review

Much like its predecessor Hot August Night 2, Live in America captures Neil Diamond at the height of his powers as a showman. By the time Live in America was recorded, it had been several years since he had a hit; in fact, the closest he had come to the top of the charts was when UB40 took a reggae remake of "Red Red Wine" to number one. That doesn't mean the album is a wash-out. Diamond hauls out his old hits -- including an approximation of UB40's interpretation of "Red Red Wine" -- and gives one hell of a show. It might not offer anything that the previous Hot August Nights did, but Live in America remains an entertaining listen.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. America
  2. Hello Again
  3. Kentucky Woman
  4. You Got to Me
  5. Cherry, Cherry
  6. I'm a Believer
  7. Sweet Caroline
  8. Love on the Rocks
  9. Hooked on the Memory of You
  10. Lady Oh
  11. Beautiful Noise
  12. Play Me
  13. Up on the Roof
  14. You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'
  15. River Deep, Mountain High
  16. I (Who Have Nothing)
  17. Missa
  18. Soolaimon
  19. Holly Holy
  20. And the Grass Won't Pay No Mind
  21. You Don't Bring Me Flowers
  22. September Morn'
  23. Havah Nagila
  24. Solitary Man
  25. Red, Red Wine
  26. Song Sung Blue
  27. Forever in Blue Jeans
  28. Heartlight
  29. Cracklin' Rosie
  30. I Am...I Said
  31. Crunchy Granola Suite
  32. Brother Love's Traveling Salvation Show
purchase full album