Pop/Rock, Heavy Metal, Hair Metal, Arena Rock, Pop-Metal, Hard Rock

Album Review

David Coverdale built Whitesnake's commercial breakthrough on a collection of loud, polished hard rockers, plus the band's best set of pop hooks. The Led Zeppelin-ish "Still of the Night" offered headbanger appeal, but it was the big chorus of "Here I Go Again" -- one of the very small number of non-power ballad '80s hard rock singles to actually top the pop charts -- and the quiet ballad "Is This Love" that really sold the album in spades. The rest of the album generally holds interest as well, and it's easily the band's best.
Steve Huey, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Crying in the Rain
  2. Bad Boys
  3. Still of the Night
  4. Here I Go Again
  5. Give Me All Your Love
  6. Is This Love
  7. Children of the Night
  8. Straight for the Heart
  9. Don't Turn Away
purchase full album