June 21, 1993
Rhythm & Blues, Disco, Soul, Urban, Quiet Storm, Smooth Soul

Album Review

Ashford & Simpson scored 33 entries on the R&B singles charts between 1973 and 1990, all but one of them on Warner Bros. or Capitol. This compilation licenses the two biggest hits from the duo's tenure at Warner, "It Seems to Hang On" and "Found a Cure," both of which hit the Top Ten, and features the eight Capitol titles that made the R&B Top 40 -- "Street Corner," "Love It Away," "High-Rise," "Solid," "Outta the World," "Babies," "Count Your Blessings," and "I'll Be There for You." There are also six tracks culled from the five Capitol albums, bringing the disc's time to over 71 minutes. In other words, this is about as comprehensive an overview of A&S's career as could be managed by one label on one disc. There are good biographical liner notes by compiler David Nathan.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. It Seems to Hang On
  2. Found a Cure
  3. Street Corner
  4. Love It Away
  5. I'll Take the Whole World On
  6. High-Rise
  7. Experience (Love Had No Face)
  8. My Kinda Pick Me Up
  9. Solid
  10. Outta the World
  11. Babies
  12. Count Your Blessings
  13. Nobody Walks in L.A.
  14. Love or Physical
  15. Cookies and Cake
  16. I'll Be There for You