August 24, 1993
Pop/Rock, Alternative Country-Rock, Hard Rock, Roots Rock, Album Rock, College Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, American Trad Rock

Album Review

With their second album Cracker have lost the smarmy self-righteousness that plagued their otherwise fine debut, replacing it with a surprisingly solid, rocking core. Kerosene Hat is David Lowery's least affected album yet -- its humor is no stranger than "Dead Flowers" by the Stones or "Fat Man in a Bathtub" by Little Feat, two groups that Cracker strongly recall throughout the album. Kerosene Hat is more blues- and country-based than their debut, but it sounds natural, since their songwriting has improved and they've grown tighter as a unit.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Low
  2. Movie Star
  3. Get off This
  4. Kerosene Hat
  5. Take Me Down to the Infirmary
  6. Nostalgia
  7. Sweet Potato
  8. Sick of Goodbyes
  9. I Want Everything
  10. Lonesome Johnny Blues
  11. Let's Go for a Ride
  12. Loser
  13. [Blank Track]
  14. [Blank Track]
  15. Hi-Desert Biker Meth Lab
purchase full album