July 18, 1995
Jamaican Gold
Reggae, Smooth Reggae, Lovers Rock, Roots Reggae

Album Review

This solid Delroy Wilson disc takes in some of the singer's best reggae sides for producer Bunny Lee. Mostly cut during the first half of the '70s, the 12 tracks include updates of one of his earliest hits, "I'm in a Dancing Mood," and such Studio One smashes as "Never Can Conquer Me" and "Rain From the Skies" (covered to fine effect by Wilson contemporary Slim Smith). Throughout, it's clear that the singer's once spry voice has taken on a deeper, more soulful tone, making these performances some of his most affecting. The Aggrovators band's bedrock support only adds to the smoky ambience. Maybe not the most complete of Wilson's reggae-era roundups, this import still works just fine as a introductory sampling of one of Jamaica's top vocal talents.
Stephen Cook, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I'm in a Dancing Mood
  2. This Heart of Mine
  3. Rain From the Skies
  4. Doing My Thing
  5. Cool Operator
  6. Who Cares
  7. Never Will Conquer Me
  8. Put Yourself in My Place
  9. I'm Yours
  10. Let There Be Love
  11. I'm in the Mood for Love
  12. Might Can't Beat Right