February 09, 2010
Rhythm & Blues, Contemporary R&B, Urban, Neo-Soul, Adult Contemporary R&B

Album Review

Truth in advertising, Another Round varies little from Jaheim’s earlier efforts, but for the returning listener, that’s the selling point. Right off the bat the fingersnapping funk of “Ain’t Leavin’ Without You” brings that husky brand of neo-soul that’s unique to the singer, who’s partnered here with a handful like-minded producers including the returning KayGee. With warm guitars, jazzy flutes, and early-'70s soul nostalgia, the following “Finding My Way Back” is a perfect example of how the singer nails those Vandross-sized moments of yearning. The silky smooth “Her” gets at the cool passion of the Isley’s, and Bill Withers even comes to mind on some of the more organic cuts, but with such obvious respect for the past, the argument against interpolating Percy Sledge’s classic “When a Man Loves a Woman” for the trite “Impossible” should have been obvious. Still, at 14 cuts the album still stands after some trimming, and when you add big fan Jadakiss on the “Ain’t Leavin’ Without You” remix, you’ve got all the elements Jaheim fans require.
David Jeffries, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Ain't Leavin Without You
  2. Finding My Way Back
  3. Whoa
  4. Till It Happens to You
  5. Bed Is Listening
  6. Impossible
  7. Another Round
  8. Her
  9. II Pink Lines
  10. Otha Half
  11. Closer
  12. In My Hands
  13. Ain't Leavin Without You
purchase full album