RELEASE
LABEL
Rhino
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Psychedelic, Proto-Punk, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Album Rock, Art Rock, Hard Rock, Power Pop

Album Review

Something/Anything? proved that Todd Rundgren could write a pop classic as gracefully as any of his peers, but buried beneath the surface were signs that he would never be satisfied as merely a pop singer/songwriter. A close listen to the album reveals the eccentricities and restless spirit that surges to the forefront on its follow-up, A Wizard, a True Star. Anyone expecting the third record of Something/Anything?, filled with variations on "I Saw the Light" and "Hello It's Me," will be shocked by A Wizard. As much a mind-f*ck as an album, A Wizard, a True Star rarely breaks down to full-fledged songs, especially on the first side, where songs and melodies float in and out of a hazy post-psychedelic mist. Stylistically, there may not be much new -- he touched on so many different bases on Something/Anything? that it's hard to expand to new territory -- but it's all synthesized and assembled in fresh, strange ways. Often, it's a jarring, disturbing listen, especially since Rundgren's humor has turned bizarre and insular. It truly takes a concerted effort on the part of the listener to unravel the record, since Rundgren makes no concessions -- not only does the soul medley jerk in unpredictable ways, but the anthemic closer, "Just One Victory," is layered with so many overdubs that it's hard to hear its moving melody unless you pay attention. And that's the key to understanding A Wizard, a True Star -- it's one of those rare rock albums that demands full attention and, depending on your own vantage, it may even reward such close listening.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. International Feelhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/international-feel/id100982378?i=100982312&uo=5
  2. Never Never Landhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/never-never-land/id100982378?i=100982314&uo=5
  3. Tic Tic Tic, It Wears Offhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tic-tic-tic-it-wears-off/id100982378?i=100982316&uo=5
  4. You Need Your Headhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/you-need-your-head/id100982378?i=100982318&uo=5
  5. Rock & Roll Pussyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/rock-roll-pussy/id100982378?i=100982320&uo=5
  6. Dogfight Gigglehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/dogfight-giggle/id100982378?i=100982322&uo=5
  7. You Don't Have to Camp Aroundhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/you-dont-have-to-camp-around/id100982378?i=100982333&uo=5
  8. Flamingohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/flamingo/id100982378?i=100982335&uo=5
  9. Zen Archerhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/zen-archer/id100982378?i=100982337&uo=5
  10. Just Another Onionhead; da da Dali
  11. When the Shit Hits the Fan/Sunset Blvd.
  12. Le Feel Internacionalehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/le-feel-internacionale/id100982378?i=100982343&uo=5
  13. Sometimes I Don't Know What to Feelhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sometimes-i-dont-know-what/id100982378?i=100982345&uo=5
  14. Does Anybody Love You?http://itunes.apple.com/album/does-anybody-love-you/id100982378?i=100982347&uo=5
  15. I'm So Proud: Ooh Baby Baby/La la Means I Love You/Cool Jerk [Medley]
  16. Hungry for Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/hungry-for-love/id100982378?i=100982360&uo=5
  17. I Don't Want to Tie You Downhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-dont-want-to-tie-you-down/id100982378?i=100982363&uo=5
  18. Is It My Name?http://itunes.apple.com/album/is-it-my-name/id100982378?i=100982365&uo=5
  19. Just One Victoryhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/just-one-victory/id100982378?i=100982367&uo=5