Pop/Rock, Country-Rock, Adult Contemporary, Contemporary Pop/Rock

Album Review

Linda Ronstadt abandoned the pop audience in 1983, turning toward traditional pop music. She recorded three albums with Nelson Riddle before changing direction yet again, this time recording a set of traditional Mexican songs titled Canciones de Mi Padre. As the title suggests, the record is a fairly sentimental collection, since these are songs from her childhood and her heritage. Occasionally, Ronstadt oversells the songs but overall, the album is charming, affectionate, entertaining, and more successful than her stilted Nelson Riddle collaborations.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. For a Love
  2. The Laurels
  3. There Are Some Eyes
  4. The Cicada
  5. You, Only You
  6. Get on with It
  7. Rogaciano el Huapanguero
  8. The Charreada
  9. Two Little Trees
  10. Ballad of Cananea
  11. The Boat from Guaymas
  12. The Lark
  13. Sun That You Are
purchase full album