Vocal Music, Standards, Classic Female Blues, Traditional Pop, Vocal Jazz

Album Review

Up until 1959, Dinah Washington was able to excel in every musical setting that she found herself. A strong jazz/blues vocalist who had many R&B hits, Washington always sounded confident and soulful even when backed by studio orchestras. However after her February 19, 1959 recording of "What a Diff'rence a Day Makes" became a major hit and she gained fame, Washington stuck to safely commercial pop music. Even when she was singing superior songs during the 1959-1963 period, she was always backed by large orchestras outfitted with extremely commercial charts better suited to country-pop stars. The sixth in Mercury's series of three-CD sets starts with the February 19 session and covers 21 months in Washington's career.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I Won't Cry Anymore
  2. What a Diff'rence a Day Made
  3. Time After Time
  4. Come on Home
  5. Cry Me a River
  6. That's All There Is to That
  7. It's Magic
  8. It Could Happen to You
  9. Time After Time
  10. I Thought About You
  11. Unforgettable
  12. When I Fall in Love
  13. I'm Thru With Love
  14. A Sunday Kind of Love
  15. Alone
  16. Manhattan
  17. I Remember You
  18. Nothing in the World
  19. Baby (You've Got What It Takes)
  20. I Do
  21. The Song Is Ended
  22. I Understand
  23. This Love of Mine
  24. Bad Luck
  25. The Light
  26. Ask a Woman Who Knows
  27. Lingering
  28. Man Only Does (What a Woman Makes Him Do)
  29. A Bad Case of the Blues
  30. This I Promise You
  31. Crazy Love
  32. Somewhere Along the Line
  33. The Age of Miracles
  34. Ole Santa
  35. Everybody Loves Somebody
  36. This Bitter Earth
  37. There Goes My Heart
  38. Daybreak
  39. Love Walked In
  40. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  41. Lord, You Made Us Human
  42. Good Morning Heartache
  43. I'm in Heaven Tonight
  44. Show Me the Way
  45. While We're Young
  46. Looking Back
  47. Again
  48. Rockin' Good Way (To Mess Around and Fall in Love)
  49. I Believe
  50. Misery
  51. I Concentrate on You
  52. Fool That I Am
  53. Forgotten
  54. We Have Love
  55. You've Got Me Crying Again
  56. The Sun Forgot to Shine This Morning
  57. Early Every Morning
  58. Hurt
  59. Out of Sight, Out of Mind
  60. Don't Let the Sun Catch You Crying
  61. Harbor Lights
  62. Stardust
  63. You Taught Me
  64. I'll Never Kiss You Goodbye
  65. It Shouldn't Happen to a Dream
  66. I Wish I Didn't Love You So
  67. I Don't Know Whether to Laugh or Cry Over You
  68. Cold, Cold Heart
  69. I'll Come Back for More
  70. Do You Want It That Way
  71. September in the Rain
  72. Tell Love Hello
  73. Don't Go to Strangers
purchase full album