July 22, 2008
EMD Int'l
Electronica, Trip-Hop, Electronica, Left-Field House, Big Beat, House, Club/Dance, Funky Breaks

Album Review

The Chemical Brothers' second career-spanning compilation is basically a substitute for the first, including nine of the same tracks first reissued on 2003's Singles 93-03 and then making room for a few of the touchstones released between 2003 and 2008 (two of which are new to this collection). The early classics "Chemical Beats" and "Leave Home" are still among the best of their career, while "Block Rockin' Beats" and "Setting Sun" (featuring Noel Gallagher) found the mature Chemical Brothers quickly growing comfortable with a stadium-sized sound and profile. From there, the duo appeared to merely refine their approach, gathering in further psychedelic and house influences while they scored gradually more popular guests over the subsequent ten years. Brotherhood's track listing could easily be quarreled with, but it includes most of the approved highlights from each album, early or old, innovative or orthodox. One of the new tracks features an intriguing matchup, with Spank Rock's Naeem Juwan joining the ChemBros for "Keep My Composure," a rather clever piece of acid hip-hop.
John Bush, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Galvanize
  2. Hey Boy Hey Girl
  3. Block Rockin' Beats
  4. Do It Again
  5. Believe
  6. Star Guitar
  7. Let Forever Be
  8. Leave Home
  9. Keep My Composure
  10. Saturate
  11. Out of Control
  12. Midnight Madness
  13. The Golden Path
  14. Setting Sun
  15. Chemical Beats
purchase full album