Universal Distribution
Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Contemporary Singer/Songwriter

Album Review

Jack Johnson claims that personal losses led the surfing singer/songwriter into darker territory for his fifth album. To a certain extent, all of that is true, as the album does open with an atypically moody number in "All at Once" and there are some darker sentiments lurking here, but it takes some close listening to find the sorrow flowing underneath Johnson's sand-brushed, gentle voice doesn't command attention. His voice lulls and soothes, perfect for his mellow moods. Johnson may use more electric guitar but he's strumming them like acoustics and his overall aesthetic has not changed at all: he's still a laid-back guy singing songs that roll so easy they glide into the background.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. All at Once
  2. Sleep Through the Static
  3. Hope
  4. Angel
  5. Enemy
  6. If I Had Eyes
  7. Same Girl
  8. What You Thought You Need
  9. Adrift
  10. Go On
  11. They Do, They Don't
  12. While We Wait
  13. Monsoon
  14. Losing Keys