Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock

Album Review

Released after the studied, meticulous Flowers in the Dirt, the live acoustic concert album Unplugged was a breath of fresh air, and it remains one of the most enjoyable records in McCartney's catalog. Running through a selection of oldies -- not only his own, but Beatles and rock & roll chestnuts -- McCartney is carefree and charming, making songs like "Be-Bop-a-Lula" and "Blue Moon of Kentucky" (which finds Paul melding Bill Monroe with Elvis) sound fresh. But the real revelations of the record are the songs McCartney hauls out from his debut -- "That Would Be Something," "Every Night," and "Junk" -- which sound lovely and timeless, restoring them to their proper place in his canon. They help make Unplugged into a thoroughly enjoyable minor gem.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Be-Bop-A-Lula
  2. I Lost My Little Girl
  3. Here, There and Everywhere
  4. Blue Moon of Kentucky
  5. We Can Work It Out
  6. San Francisco Bay Blues
  7. I've Just Seen a Face
  8. Every Night
  9. She's a Woman
  10. Hi-Heel Sneakers
  11. And I Love Her
  12. That Would Be Something
  13. Blackbird
  14. Ain't No Sunshine
  15. Good Rockin' Tonight
  16. Singing the Blues
  17. Junk